LS 2019 Elections: U.P. Shall See BJP Vs SP/BSP Combined



The Samajwadi Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party, who were fierce rivals some time ago have been compelled to come very close to each other. For the first time in several years, SP Chief Akhilesh Yadav and BSP chief Mayawati are being seen in hoardings spread across the city. These hoardings carry the caption, ‘We have alliance while BJP has CBI’.

The Samajwadi Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party’s alliance in Uttar Pradesh can be announced Saturday on the announcement of the Lok Sabha elections in 2019. SP President Akhilesh Yadav and BSP supremo Mayawati had met in Delhi last Friday. It also came out that both were not in favor of contesting elections with the Congress. They will together address their first press conference. Samajwadi Party spread the information about this press conference from its Twitter Handle.

A Press release was issued on behalf of both the parties. In the invitation letter sent to the media, the National Secretary of SP Rajendra Chaudhary and BSP’s National Secretary General Satish Chandra Mishra were the signatories.

Meanwhile, Ajeet Singh, president of the National Lok Dal, another coalition partner, said, “We are a part of the Alliance, but there has been no discussion on the sharing of seats. It is up to Akhileshji and Mayawatiji to decide whether the Congress will be with the alliance or not.”

“Three seats from the 80 Lok Sabha seats of the state may be won”, the RLD is said to be asserting. The SP and BSP can contest in 37 seats each. Three seats will be for the RLD and two 2 seats can be spared for the Congress. One seat be reserved for any other affiliate.

In such a division of seats, the point of disagreement is due to RLD. Its party chief Ajit Singh wants four seats.

In 2018, the BJP suffered major reverses from SP-BSP in the by-elections in Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats. The BSP supported the SP candidate, and the SP-BSP and Congress supported RLD candidate in the Karaana Lok Sabha by-elections. The BJP lost miserably in all three places.

Samajwadi Party President Akhilesh Yadav had thanked Bhahujan Samaj Party  supremo Mayawati and her party for the support to SP’s candidates in the Gorakhpur and Phulpur by-polls. SP registered a staggering victory in both the assembly seats despite the saffron wave that was said to have gripped the state. He said that BJP did not fulfil its promises and the results were a clear sign of the people’s angst against the party. The story in 2014 was different.

Uttar Pradesh: 2014 Lok Sabha Election Status
Party Seats Won Vote share
BJP + 73 42.60%
SP 5 22.30%
BSP 0 19.80%
Congress 2 7.50%
Total 80 92.20%

Clearly, BJP alone is way behind SP, BSP, and Cong combined.