Glimpse of political sentiment- Jind, Ramgarh bypoll results today

India News

With bigwigs like Congress’s Randeep Singh Surjewala and Digvijay Chautala in the fray, the results of the crucial bypoll in Haryana’s Jind will provide a glimpse into the political sentiment in Haryana ahead of the upcoming 2019 Lok Sabha elections and the state elections scheduled for later this year.

The counting of votes for Jind bypoll held on January 28 began at 8 am and 14 tables have been set up.

There are four major contenders in Jind — the ruling BJP, Congress, the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and the Jannayak Janata Party (JJP), which was formed after a split in the INLD.

In Jind, Congress fielded its chief national spokesperson and sitting MLA from Kaithal constituency Randeep Singh Surjewala. The JJP has put its weight behind Digvijay Chautala, the younger son of jailed leader Ajay Singh Chautala, who broke away from the INLD and floated the party.

21 candidates – including senior Congress leader Randeep Surjewala – contested in the by-elections in Jind. The seat has 1.75 lakh voters.

Meanwhile, counting of votes is also under way in Rajasthan’s Ramgarh assembly constituency.

The results of the bypolls in Jind and Ramgarh assembly constituencies will be declared today. The results of the bypolls are crucial for both the BJP and the Congress.

A high voter turnout was recorded in Jind and Ramgarh assembly constituencies on Monday.

In the Jind assembly by-election, the turnout was recorded at over 70 per cent at 5 pm. With around 45,000 voters out of a total 1.7 lakh, Jats form the majority community after Scheduled castes and OBCs in Jind constituency.

The voter turnout in Ramgarh was 78.9 per cent. Ramgarh has 2.35 lakh voters, including 1.10 lakh female voters. The election was postponed following the death of BSP candidate Laxman Singh.