40 LS seats in Bihar: NDA takes lead in announcing candidates, Others lag behind

India News

Bihar Lok Sabha Elections.

There are 40 Lok Sabha constituencies. A total of 70.6 million voters will exercise their franchise in 72,723 polling stations in the state.

The Lok Sabha election in the state will be held in seven phases with the first one on April 11 and the last on May 19. SeeSchedule.

The poll process will begin from March 18 with the issuance of notification for filing of nomination papers for the first phase.

The counting of votes will take place along with the rest of the country on May 23, the Election Commission had said.

After days of massive brainstorming, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) on Sunday announced its list of 40 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in Bihar.

Miffed with the seat-sharing formula, one NDA ally, former Union minister Upendra Kushwaha snapped ties with BJP. His party, Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) was not given any seats to contest. Kushwaha then went on to join the Congress-RJD mahagathbandhan. The three NDA constituents in Bihar — BJP, JD(U) and LJP — Sunday announced the names of candidates for the 40 Lok Sabha constituencies for the coming general elections.

After RLSP quit the alliance, BJP has yielded a number of key seats to its allies JD(U) and LJP.

  1. Bhagalpur: used to be a traditional stronghold of the BJP. It has gone to JDU in this seat-sharing deal.
  2. Nawada: Presently held by Union minister and BJP leader Giriraj Singh. The seat has been allotted to LJP’s Veena Devi, who is an MP from Munger. BJP is likely to shift Giriraj Singh to Begusarai. JDU leader and Bihar Minister Lalan Singh will be the party’s candidate from Munger.
  3. Balmiki Nagar:  Sitting BJP MP Satish Dubey has been denied a ticket. Several district level BJP leaders have resigned in protest against BJP leaving the seat favoring JDU.

BJP chief Amit Shah had announced in October 2018 that the party and the JD(U) will contest equal number of seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in Bihar.

In December 2018 he had announced that the BJP and the JD(U) will contest 17 seats each, while the LJP will get the remaining six seats in the state.

The LJP will also be given a Rajya Sabha berth and Paswan is likely to be its candidate, he had said.

As per the announcement made at a joint press conference of the three parties in Patna, the BJP and the JD(U) will contest 17 seats each and the Union minister Ram Vilas Paswan’s LJP in six.

An agreement on the seat sharing had already been reached between the three parties.

According to the announcement, the BJP will contest from Paschim Champaran (Bettiah), Purvi Champaran (Motihari), Muzaffarpur, Saran, Maharjaganj, Sheohar, Madhubani, Darbhanga, Ujiarpur, Begusarai, Patna Sahib, Patliputra, Ara, Buxar, Sasaram, Aurangabad and Araria.

The JD(U) will field candidates from Valmikinagar, Siwan, Gopalganj, Jehanbad, Gaya, Karakat, Madhepura, Supaul, Jhanjharpur, Sitamarhi, Purnea, Kishanganj, Banka, Bhagalpur, Munger, Nalanda and Katihar.

LJP will contesting the Lok Sabha seats of Hajipur, Samastipur, Jamui, Nawada, Khagaria and Vaishali.

The joint NDA press conference was held at the JD(U) office in Patna in the presence of the three NDA partners, which were represented by Bihar BJP chief Nityanand Rai, state JD(U) chief Bashistha Narayan Singh and LJP chief and state minister Pashupati Kumar Paras.


What about others?

The grand alliance in Bihar comprising the RJD, Congress, RLSP, HAM(S), Sharad Yadav’s Loktantrik Janata Dal and Bollywood set designer Mukesh Sahni’s Vikasshil Insan Party is yet to make announcement of seat sharing among its partners.

Former chief minister and HAM(S) president Jitan Ram Manjhi Friday said the seat sharing in grand alliance will be announced on Monday.

But given the rumblings within the alliance as every constituent is claiming larger share of seats, it is to be seen whether the seat sharing will be announced on the day.